The Niagara Biennial Design Award winners represent the quality and diversity of design of the built environment in Niagara in five design categories. Established in 2020, the bi-annual awards are open to owners, developers, architects, landscape architects, urban designers, planners, engineers, interior designers, artists and students.

Award-winning submissions are chosen by a panel of design professionals. For 2022, a total of 11 award winners were selected from 35 submissions. The 2022 award winners include:

Grand prize – Interior public space

  • Niagara Parks Power Station – Niagara Parks Commission

Grand prize – Architecture

  • Neil Campbell Rowing Centre – City of St. Catharines and Henley Rowing Corporation

Outstanding achievement – Architecture

  • Walker Sport and Abilities Centre – Brock University, City of St. Catharines, City of Thorold, Niagara Region
  • Spirit in Niagara Small Batch Distillery – Spirit in Niagara Distillery Corporation
  • Student Commons – Niagara College

Outstanding achievement – Landscape architecture

  • Rotary Park – Town of Lincoln
  • Bridge Street Roundabout – Niagara Region
  • The Gardens at Pillar and Post Inn – Lais Hotel Properties Inc.

Outdoor art

  • Poppy Project – Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum
  • Downtown Bench Alley – Downtown Bench Beamsville BIA

Visionary design

  • Port Robinson Ecological Park Conceptual Master Plan – City of Thorold

Click here to access Niagara Biennial Jury Report 2022

Click here for more information about Niagara Biennial Design Awards

Use the icons below to Share!